Josef Dreisörner

Mediadesigner, Photo Artist

As the evolution of digital image editing eliminates the distinctiveness of the visual vocabulary, the viewer of photographic images is increasingly confronted with drably uniform visual languages.

Digital post-editing today allows repairing virtually every mistake and achieving any desired aesthetic result, but at a great cost. Where any result can be produced from any original image, seeing and sensual perception lose their value and significance, as does the technical and manual process of capturing an image. Josef Dreisörner rejects this current approach to the photographic workflow radically.

His KLIMSCH UNIKAT portrait shots yield perspectives of the human visage with downright surgical precision – an aesthetic approach which may feel alien at first, but is intentional in its expressiveness. Although still committed to high aesthetic standards, in most Josef Dreisörner’s still lifes do not focus on aesthetic issues. Rather, in his still lifes he sees himself obligated – also as an artist – to take a stand on socially relevant issues. The choice of this subject must indeed be considered as unusual. The fact that the viewer initially reacts in a disturbed manner is a matter of calculation. Only a longer engagement with the work reveals on the one hand the theme that moves the artist, on the other hand it deliberately leaves room for interpretation and should invite further discussion.

Such pictorial statements are mainly realized by so-called large format cameras. Among others, Josef Dreisörner uses a Klimsch Praktika reproduction / process camera built in 1957 with a film format of up to 50×60 cm (20×24 INCH). Photographs are taken analogously on film or with direct exposure on black-and-white positive photo paper. When using the positive photo paper the captured image cannot be reproduced in analog photographic technology, and there is no option of analogue or digital post-processing. The captures on film are realized by means of the Palladium /Platinum Print process. In this process, hand prints are made on natural paper whose incomparable quality, aesthetic beauty and permanence were already appreciated by the pictorialists of the 19th century.

International Prizes and Awards:

Nominee; 7th edition of Fine Art Photography Awards 2021

2x Honorable Mention; Monochrome Photography Awards 2020

Nominee; 4th edition of Fine Art Photography Awards 2018

Josef Dreisörner – Photographic Art
c/o Dreisörner Werbeagentur GmbH
Kaulbachstr. 61, 80539 Munich, Germany
+49 89 688 6778
info@josef-dreisoerner.de

Josef Dreisörner

Mediengestalter, Photo Artist

In Zeiten zunehmender Angleichung bildsprachlicher Mittel, die im Wesentlichen auf Funktionen digitaler Bildbearbeitung beruhen, wird der Betrachter fotografischer Abbildungen mittlerweile mit einem Einerlei gleichförmiger Bildsprachen überflutet.

Digitale Nachbearbeitungsmöglichkeiten, mit denen heutzutage fast jeder Fehler ausgebügelt und jedes gewünschte ästhetische Ergebnis nachträglich hergestellt werden kann, bewirken in der Folge einen hohen Bedeutungsverlust des Sehens, des sinnlichen Wahrnehmens und vernachlässigen vollständig den technisch-handwerklichen Aufnahmeprozess. Dieser gegenwärtig gängigen Praxis des fotografischen Workflows verweigern sich die Arbeiten von Josef Dreisörner radikal und konsequent.

Bei seinen KLIMSCH UNIKAT Close-up-Portraits entstehen geradezu chirurgisch präzise Einblicke in das menschliche Antlitz – eine Ästhetik, welche den Betrachter zunächst befremdet, aber in seiner Konsequenz des Abbildens genau so gewollt ist. Obgleich sehr wohl weiterhin hohen ästhetischen Ansprüchen selbst verpflichtet, stehen in den meisten Stillleben von Josef Dreisörner ästhetische Fragestellungen nicht im Vordergrund. Vielmehr sieht er sich in seinen Stillleben – auch als Kunstschaffender – verpflichtet, zu gesellschaftlich relevanten Themen Stellung zu beziehen. Die Wahl dieses Sujets muss fürwahr als ungewöhnlich erachtet werden. Dass der Betrachter zunächst verstört reagiert, ist Kalkül. Erst ein längeres Beschäftigen mit dem Werk erschließt zum einen die den Schaffenden bewegende Thematik, zum anderen lässt es bewusst Raum für Interpretationen und soll zu weiteren Diskussionen einladen.

Verwirklicht werden derartige Bildaussagen hauptsächlich mittels sogenannter Großformat-Kameras. Dabei bedient sich Josef Dreisörner unter anderen einer Klimsch Praktika Reprokamera von 1957 mit einem Aufnahmeformat von bis zu 50×60 cm. Fotografiert wird analog auf Film, oder direkt auf ein schwarz-weiß positiv Fotopapier. Bei Verwendung des positiv Fotopapiers ist weder eine Reproduzierbarkeit der Aufnahme fototechnisch analog möglich, noch eine Nachbearbeitung im Fotolabor oder digital, wodurch einzigartige Unikate entstehen. Die Aufnahmen auf Film verwirklicht er mittels des Palladium /Platinum Print Verfahrens. Dabei entstehen Handabzüge auf Naturpapier deren unvergleichliche Qualität, ästhetische Schönheit und Unvergänglichkeit schon die Pictorialisten des 19. Jahrhunderts zu schätzen wußten.

Internationale Preise und Awards:

Nominee; 7th edition of Fine Art Photography Awards 2021

2x Honorable Mention; Monochrome Photography Awards 2020

Nominee; 4th edition of Fine Art Photography Awards 2018

Josef Dreisörner – Photographic Art
c/o Dreisörner Werbeagentur GmbH
Kaulbachstr. 61, 80539 Munich, Germany
+49 89 688 6778
info@josef-dreisoerner.de